Specialist Palliative Care Services

Entrance to John Eastwood Hospice Palliative care aims to support people with advanced progressive disease to maximise quality of life for patients and families.

If symptoms or needs are complex then referral to the Specialist Palliative Care Service at John Eastwood Hospice may be appropriate. We provide care from diagnosis to final days of life.

This service is available to people over 18 years of age.


Accessing our services

Referrals can be made by GP, district nurse, clinical nurse specialists or health professionals within acute hospital trusts.

However please contact us by telephone or email if you require further information.

Email: Emma Roberts emma.roberts@nottshc.nhs.uk

Email: Denise Cooper denise.cooper@nottshc.nhs.uk

Further information

The site is accessible by wheelchair. Accessible toilet facilities are available on site.


Service opening hours

24 hour advice line and visiting for inpatient unit, 7 days a week.

Day Hospice:

9am – 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Outreach Service:

9am – 5pm, 7 days a week.


Contact us

  • Telephone: 01623 622 626
  • Address: John Eastwood Hospice, Mansfield Road, Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire, NG17 4HJ


Getting here

Visitor parking is available on site. Some spaces have been designated for use by blue badge holders only.

By bus

The service is accessible via bus with volunteer patient transport available for day hospice patients.

By train

The nearest train station is Mansfield  however, this is some distance from our site and will require a further bus journey or taxi. For help planning your journey please visit Traveline.


Help in a crisis

Emma Roberts, Head of Specialist Palliative Care

Telephone: 01623 622 626.

Email: Emma.roberts@nottshc.nhs.uk


Information for health professionals

A referral form is available from:

Emma Roberts emma.roberts@nottshc.nhs.uk

Denise Cooper denise.cooper@nottshc.nhs.uk

Heather Stickley heather.stickley@nottsch.nhs.uk

Lead Clinician

Dr Claudia Whale and Emma Roberts, Head of Service

Service commissioned by

Newark and Sherwood, Mansfield and Ashfield Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs), with some support from other CCGs.