Nottinghamshire CAMHS Mental Health Support Team

The CAMHS Mental Health Support Team is a new collaborative service across health and education, available in project schools across Nottinghamshire.

We are an early intervention mental health and wellbeing service in schools aimed at providing support for children, young people and families around low-level emotional wellbeing needs, such as anxiety, low mood, managing emotions, and sleep. We link in directly with Nottinghamshire CAMHS teams and provide in school sessions to promote positive mental health. Our work is delivered on a 1:1 and group/workshop basis.

We also provide additional well-being training for teachers to promote and maintain their own mental health as they promote a wider whole school approach to mental health.

The schools included in this project have a member of staff who is a designated Mental Health Lead,  who will act as the link between the service and school and they can refer directly into our service. For a list of schools, currently signed up to the project please  follow this link.

We will also take self referrals from young people and their families directly into the CAMHS Single Point of Access (SPA) on 0115 854 2299. We will ask your permission before informing school of your participation in the project.

Referrals should please be sent to (please note this email address is case sensitive and once received you will be sent an automatic reply to acknowledge receipt)

For enquiries please contact or call the office on 0115 876 0167.

Schools list

MHST Bassetlaw

Outwood Academy Portland

Outwood Academy Valley

Retford Oaks Academy

Serlby Park Academy

St Giles School

The Elizabethan Academy

Tuxford Academy


MHST Broxtowe

Albany Infant & Nursery

Albany Juniors

Alderman Pounder Infant & Nursery

Bramcote Church of England Primary

Bramcote College

Bramcote Hills Primary

Beeston Fields Primary & Nursery

Chilwell School

Greasley Beauvale Primary

Hall Park Academy

John Clifford Primary

Lawrence View Primary & Nursery

Priory Catholic Voluntary Academy

Round Hill Primary

St John's Church of England Primary

Springbank Primary & Nursery

Sunnyside Spencer Academy Primary & Nursery

The Alderman White

The Florence Nightingale Academy

The Lanes Primary (2 sites)

Trowell Church of England Primary

Wadsworth Field Primary


MHST Gedling

Burton Joyce Primary School

Carlton Junior Academy

Carlton Le Willows

Christ the King

Derrymount School

Good Shepherd School

Haddon Primary School

Holy Cross Primary R/C

Netherfield Primary School

Parkdale Primary

Porchester Junior School

Sacred Heart Primary R/C

St John Baptist Primary School

Standhill Infants School

The Carlton Academy

Westdale Infants School

Westdale Junior School

Willow Farm


MHST Mansfield & Ashfield

Ashfield School

Birklands Primary School

Church Vale Primary

Eastland (The Welbeck Federation of Schools)

Greenwood Primary School

Hetts Lane

High Oakham

Huthwaite All Saints Infant School

King Edward primary

Kirkby Woodhouse School

Mansfield Primary Academy

Mapplewells Primary

Meden School

Netherfield infant & Nursery school (The Welbeck Federation of Schools)

Orchard Primary

Sherwood Junior School

St Peters C of E Primary

The West park Academy

Woodland View Primary


MHST Newark & Sherwood

Barnby Road Academy Primary & Nursery

Bilsthorpe Flying High Academy

Bishop Alexander LEAD Academy

Christ Church Church of England Infant and Nursery School

Chuter Ede Primary (2 sites)

Coddington Church of England Primary & Nursery

Forest View Academy

John Hunt Primary & Nursery

Kneesall Church of England Primary

Lovers Lane Primary & Nursery

Magnus Church of England Academy

Maun Infant & Nursery

Mount Church of England Primary & Nursery

St Mary's Church of England Primary

St Peters Cross Keys Church of England Academy

The Dukeries Academy

The Kings Church of England Primary Academy

The Newark Academy

The Parkgate Academy

The Sir Donald Bailey Academy

The Suthers School

Walesby Church of England Primary

Winthorpe Primary



MHST Rushcliffe

All Saints Elston

Archbishop Cranmer

Ash Lea Special School

Carnarvon Primary School

Cotgrave Candleby Lane School

Cotgrave C of E Primary School

Cropwell Bishop

East Bridgford St Peters C of E

Flintham Primary School

Greythorn Primary School

Gunthorpe C of E Primary School

Jesse Gray Primary School

Heymann Primary & Nursery School

Langar C of E

Orston Primary School

Radcliffe-on-Trent Infant & Nursery school

Radcliffe-on-Trent Junior school

Robert Miles Infants School

Robert Miles Junior School

South Nottinghamshire Academy

Toothill School

West Bridgford School

West Bridgford Infant School


Contact details:

Telephone: 0115 8760167


Postal:  MHST, Underwood House, Highbury Hospital, Nottingham, NG6 9DR


Mentally Healthy Schools Award

Bronze award evidence may include:

  • Awareness of MHST’s and Mental Health support within schools through Bulletins, Assemblies and Posters.
  • A specific person with mental health training should be available for young people to talk to.
  • Social space and activities such as clubs or after school activities.
  • Mental health days at least once a year.
  • Undertake an audit that identifies themes and subsequent action that will help pupils to achieve and maintain good health and wellbeing.
  • Teachers to be aware of MHST’s and sign post them to students when required.
  • Named Mental Health lead for the School
  • Attendance at consultation/Link meetings with MHST Staff
  • Young people should understand what can and cannot be kept confidential by the school.


Silver Award evidence may include:

  • MHST colleagues to go into classrooms to introduce themselves and their role within schools.
  • Emotional/Mental Health policies and procedures
  • Evidence of young people and parent participation in promoting emotional health and wellbeing in the school environment
  • Therapeutic space for MHST Interventions.
  • More use of the facilities that they already have e.g., having lessons outside in good weather, using and fields or sport areas during breaks and lunches.
  • Support for young people that are struggling academically.
  • Check in’s with students.
  • The signs and symptoms of poor mental health should be explained to both students and teachers.


Gold award evidence may include:

  • Teachers should have mental health training to help spot the signs of mental distress and help signpost young people who need it.
  • Mental Health events involving parents and governors to promote support for positive mental health awareness amongst young people within the school
  • Practical daily activities to promote good mental health
  • Have  open dialogue between the school and the pupils. Allowing concerns and suggestions to be raised in a safe and controlled environment.
  • Clearly communicated measures to support staff wellbeing
  • Staff wellbeing policy

Please submit evidence to CAMHS MHST Admin -

Support videos

Mental health support teams in schools

Moving schools - a guide for parents

Parent sessions videos



Exam assembly

Five ways to wellbeing

Young people



Sleeps workshop

Primary school children


Secondary school



Rate this page or report a problem

Rate this page or report a problem

branding footer logo